Indian Prime Minister Congratulated Moon Jae In Korean!

Trevor Hong, May 11, 2017, 10:47 a.m.

South Korean President Moon Jae-in expressed his gratitude to Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday, one day after the Indian leader tweeted in the Korean language to congratulate Moon on his election. "President Moon held his first telephone conversation with Indian Prime Minister Modi since his inauguration. The president said he had seen Modi's congratulatory message posted the night before in Korean language, and said he was grateful," Yoon Young-chan, the chief presidential secretary for public relations, told a briefing.

Moon took office Wednesday, only hours after his victory in the presidential by-election the day before was confirmed by the election authorities.

The rare presidential by-election came as former South Korean leader Park Geun-hye was removed from office on March 10, following her parliamentary impeachment in late 2016 over a range of corruption allegations.

Modi, in his 25-minute conversation with Moon, said he has always promoted South Korea as a role model for his own country's economic development, according to Yoon.

Moon praised Modi for his leadership, saying India was becoming a global leader on various international issues, including North Korea's nuclear ambitions.

"While saying he highly evaluated India's participation in international sanctions against the North while supporting South Korea's position and opposing North Korea's nuclear development, President Moon explained his own policy of employing both sanctions and dialogue at the same time to help resolve the North Korean nuclear issue," Yoon said.

Moon expressed his hope for a meeting with Modi in the near future. The Indian head of state invited Moon to his country, also expressing hopes to hold bilateral talks at upcoming international meetings if possible, such as the G20 meeting slated for July.

Modi was the fourth international leader to personally call Moon to congratulate him for the inauguration after U.S. President Donalt Trump, Chinese President Xi Jinping and Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe.

comments powered by Disqus