TWICE’s Jeongyeon, Gong Seung Yeon, and Kim Min Seok to Leave Inkigayo as MCs

Hyo Kyung Kim, Jan. 16, 2017, 9:48 a.m.

The emcee’s for the hit music show Inkigayo will be leaving.  TWICE’s Jeongyeon, Gong seung Yeon, and Kim Min Seok have announced that they will be leaving the show.  They begin as hosts in June of 2016. Inkigayo is a South Korean music program broadcast by SBS. It airs live every Sunday at 12:10 PM KST. The show features some of the latest and most popular artists who perform on stage.

Kim Min Seok is a South Korean actor. He had supporting roles in television series such as Shut Up Flower Boy Band (2012) and Who Are You: School 2015 (2015) and in 2016 featured in Descendants of the Sun and Doctor Crush.

Gong Sesung Yeon is a South Korean actress. Gong first trained as a singer under SM Entertainment for seven years after winning the "Best Looks" portion of the SM Youth Best Contest in 2005, but left in 2012 after losing interest at singing, and not being able to later debut as a member of f(x) (was in the final shortlist) or Red Velvet. She is the older sister of singer Yoo Jung-yeon, and their father Yoo Chang-joon was a private chef for former president Kim Dae-jung, as well as a head chef of the Seoul Plaza Hotel for over 20 years, specializing in Korean cuisine. Their mother works at a Japanese restaurant owned by their maternal aunt.

Yoo Jeong-yeon, was born as Yoo Kyung-wan on November 1, 1996 in Suwon, South Korea. She is the younger sister of actress Gong Seung-yeon. As a child, she was often teased because Kyung-wan sounded like a boy's name. She legally changed her name to Jeong-yeon when she was in the third grade.

She joined the company after passing the JYP Entertainment's 6th Open Audition on March 1, 2010. Like Nayeon, Jihyo and Sana, she was originally set to debut in a group called 6mix. In 2014, she appeared with Nayeon in the music video of Got7's "Girls Girls Girls" and, in 2015, appeared in miss A's "Only You" music video. She and her sister are two of the current hosts of Inkigayo since July 3, 2016.

comments powered by Disqus